Hollaback Training Opportunity

Event Details

Hollaback Training Opportunity

Time: July 29, 2020 at 6pm to August 6, 2020 at 7pm
Location: Online
Street: Online
City/Town: Online
Event Type: abuse, intervention, training
Organized By: Hollaback
Latest Activity: Jul 25

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Dear Supporter,

We are proud to announce the release of a brand new training, made in partnership with PEN America: Bystander Intervention: How To Be An Ally When You Witness Online Abuse.

Sign up here to take the free training.

As more of our personal and professional lives go digital, online hate and harassment are on the rise. Abusive trolls join forces to disproportionately target BIPOCs, women, and LGBTQ+ folks to intimidate, discredit, and silence. Each and every one of us can be an ally.

In this free, one-hour, interactive training, we’ll give you the tools you need to intervene safely and effectively in online abuse using Hollaback!’s 5D’s of bystander intervention. First, we’ll talk through what online harassment is and how to identify abusive tactics. We’ll discuss the severe impact online abuse can have – on well being, livelihoods, and free expression – and how it’s drowning out voices that urgently need to be heard in public discourse. Then we’ll share concrete strategies for how to distract, delegate, document, delay, or directly intervene in a way that is safe, effective, and centered on the needs of the person being targeted. We’ll have time to practice so you can leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see someone being abused online. We hope you’ll join us to learn how we can all band together to make the internet a safer, more diverse, and more equitable place.


We invite you to register for these upcoming dates:

Wednesday, July 29th, 2020 at 1:00pm ET/ 12:00pm CT/ 11:00am MT/ 10:00am PT/ 7:00am HST.

Wednesday, August 5th, 2020 at 1:00pm ET/ 12:00pm CT/ 11:00am MT/ 10:00am PT/ 7:00am HST.

For more information, including a list of resources from PEN America and Hollaback!, visit our Bystander Intervention: How To Be An Ally When You Witness Online Abuse page.

With Love,

Hollaback!

P.S. We’re looking forward to sharing another new training with you soon, on how to respond to online harassment when it happens to you. Stay tuned!

Comment Wall

© 2020   Created by ROSE.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service